Africa 39


The UK-based Hay Festival partnered with the Rainbow Book Club to organize the ‘Africa 39′ as part of the Port Harcourt World Book Capital (PHWBC) year projects. ’Africa 39’ is the selection and celebration of 39 African authors under the age of 40. Kenyan author, Binyavanga Wainaina, handled the call for entries and selection of the long list of 200 authors. The judges who chose the final 39 were: Tess Owueme, Magaret Busby, and Veteran Port Harcourt author, Elechi Amadi (who chaired the panel of judges). The list of the ‘Africa 39’ authors was announced at the Port Harcourt World Book Capital stand at the London Book Fair, April 2014 by Nobel Laureate Wole Soyinka. He also wrote the foreword to the book ‘Africa 39’, an anthology of stories by the writers published by Bloomsbury. ‘Africa 39’ was edited by Ella Allfrey. The project was presented at the PHWBC opening ceremony by Izara Garcia Rodriguez representing Hay Festival. Twenty two of the ‘Africa 39’ authors were sponsored by the PHWBC project to attend the Port Harcourt Book Festival 2014.

Africa 39 Authors

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (Nigeria)
Monica Arac de Nyeko
Monica Arac de Nyeko (Uganda)
Rotimi Babatunde
Rotimi Babatunde (Nigeria)
Eileen Barbosa
Eileen Barbosa (Cape Verde)
Igoni Barrett
A. Igoni Barrett (Nigeria)
Jackee Budesta Batanda
Jackee Budesta Batanda (Uganda)
Recaredo Silevo Boturu
Recaredo Silevo Boturu (Equatorial Guinea)
Nana Brew-Hammond
Nana Brew-Hammond (Ghana/US)
Shadreck Chikoti
Shadreck Chikoti (Malawi)
Edwige-Renée Dro
Edwige-Renée Dro (Ivory Coast)
Tope Folarin
Tope Folarin (Nigeria/US)
Clifton Gachagua
Clifton Gachagua (Kenya)
Stanley Gazemba
Stanley Gazemba (Kenya)
Mehul Gohil
Mehul Gohil (Kenya)
Hawa Jande Golakai
Hawa Jande Golakai (Liberia)
Shafinaaz Hassim
Shafinaaz Hassim (South Africa)
Abubakar Adam Ibrahim
Abubakar Adam Ibrahim (Nigeria)
Stanley Onjezani Kenani
Stanley Onjezani Kenani (Malawi/Switzerland)
Dinaw Mengestu
Dinaw Mengestu (Ethiopia/US)
Nadifa Mohamed
Nadifa Mohamed (Somalia/UK)
Nthikeng Mohlele
Nthikeng Mohlele (South Africa)
Linda Musita
Linda Musita (Kenya)
Sifiso Mzobe
Sifiso Mzobe (South Africa)
Glaydah Namukasa
Glaydah Namukasa (Uganda)
Kioko Ndinda
Kioko Ndinda (Kenya)
Okwiri Oduor
Okwiri Oduor (Kenya)
Ukamaka Olisakwe
Ukamaka Olisakwe (Nigeria)
Ondjaki (Luanda, Angola/Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)
Chibundu Onuzo
Chibundu Onuzo (Nigeria)
Nii Ayikwei Parkes
Nii Ayikwei Parkes (Ghana/UK)
Taiye Selasi
Taiye Selasi (Ghana/Nigeria/UK/Italy)
Namwali Serpell
Namwali Serpell (Zambia/US)
Lola Shoneyin
Lola Shoneyin (Nigeria)
Novuyo Rosa Tshuma
Novuyo Rosa Tshuma (Zimbabwe/South Africa)
Chika Unigwe
Chika Unigwe (Nigeria/Belgium/US)
Zukiswa Wanner
Zukiswa Wanner (Zambia/South Africa/Zimbabwe/Kenya)
Richard Ali A Mutu
Richard Ali A Mutu (Democratic Republic of Congo)
Mary Watson
Mary Watson (South Africa/Ireland)
Mohamed Yunus Rafiq

Mohamed Yunus Rafiq (Tanzania)